Bloomington Auto Repair

(952) 942-6986
Mon - Fri: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
1

My van needed the radiator replaced. To repair the radiator they were $400 more than the Chrysler dealership and $450 more then D Auto Repair. On top of parts and labor for a new radiator they were going to charge $149.99 to flush the radiator. The other places did not charge an additional fee for a radiator flush to install a new radiator. When they called with the estimate they asked if my air conditioning worked. I was confused and concerned by this question, since the AC was very cold on the 96° day that I brought my van in to get repaired. They said they found a leak in the rear evaporator core and started to give me quotes to repair my AC. When I got there to pick up my van naturally I wanted to see if the AC worked. The boy that was running the counter said he could not give me the keys until I paid. I said that’s fine let’s go out and see if the AC works. The AC was barely cool and no longer works - the boy said it’s cool enough. I spoke with the manager and he was harsh, condescending and raised his voice multiple times. I asked if he was really the manager and told him I did not like how he was talking to me. After more abuse, I told him he makes me uncomfortable and that I didn’t like how he was talking to me. I would never recommend this place to anyone. It’s all too coincidental. I did speak with another mechanic that said it is rare but possible for The AC to stop working and it is possible to damage the rear evaporator core when hoisting the vehicle. And the boy behind the counter refused to give me the general manager‘s phone number or contact information.

Hi Julie- we've very sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. However, we do feel the need to clarify the situation with your van. It's not uncommon for a 13 year old vehicle with 158,000 miles to have multiple issues due to age, miles, and maintenance history. That is why we perform a full vehicle health inspection on EVERY vehicle and present our findings so you can make informed decisions about your vehicle. First, there is literally no way any other shop, especially the dealer, would replace your radiator for half of what we quoted you. We know what other shops charge and firmly stand behind our prices. In most cases we can meet or beat any apples to apples quote from competitors. We offer free loaner cars, free roadside assistance, and a 3 year/36,000 mile warranty, and same day service on most repairs. Please ask your dealer and budget mechanic if they do that for you. The reason we recommend a "COOLING SYSTEM FLUSH" when replacing a radiator is to get all the gunk and contaminants out of the system before installing a brand new radiator so your cooling system performs properly and doesn't start degrading the minute you drive out of the shop. This isn't being dishonest, it's being responsible. During our inspection, we noticed an obvious leak in the rear evaporator core because the last time it was serviced they added dye to the system so the leak could be easily detected and repaired. That is why we noticed it during our inspection. We didn't sabotage your AC and it can't be damaged while lifting your van on our lifts. We wouldn't have many customers if that's how we did business. Also, we don't employ children. The Service Advisor's name who you refer to as "boy" is Nate. He's 31 years old and has worked in this business for years. We sincerely apologize for any communication issues and for making you feel disrespected. Thank you again for your feedback and have a great day!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Lives up to their name.

Thank you for the 5 stars and for supporting our small family business, Bob!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Our entire family (4 vehicles) use Honest 1 in Bloomington and have always had great, reliable service.

Hi Jackie- thank you so much for trusting us with your vehicles!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
1

I wasn’t told honestly what was wrong with my car. Had to end up going to another mechanic. Useless waste of time and money.

Hi Apurva- thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry you didn't have a 5 star experience. However, we're not sure what we did wrong as we diagnosed your vehicle and you declined the repairs to fix it.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

I came here not knowing anything about cars but that it was making a noise. When I arrived everyone was so nice and they didn’t make me feel stupid for not knowing anything. They went above and beyond and I am so grateful. The owner also has stickers available that I put on my car. This was the best experience I have had while bringing a car in. I also sat with another customer that said she had been going there for years. That made me feel even better about my choice to bring my car here.

Hi Cassie- thank you so much for your kind words and 5 star review! We really appreciate you giving us a chance to win your future business!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Friendly front desk, on time and same price as the competition. I'll use again.

Thank you for your kind words and 5 stars Doug! We'll be here next time you need service!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Thank you for the 5 star rating Andrew!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
1

They told me I had leaking head gaskets, & I spent months thinking my truck was going to die soon until two other places verified my engine is fine. Not so honest ones

Hi Christopher- we're very sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. After reviewing your recommended services, we never recommended any problems with your head gaskets or any other internal engine problems. We DID recommend a valve cover gasket due to engine oil leaks. Please contact Nate at (952) 942-6986 if you would like to discuss your concerns or review our recommendations. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and have a great day!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Great shop with top notch mechanics! The lobby area is welcoming and comfy. There is also car wash tire shop and collision shop all in the same building area. Also, I left my wallet on the counter and they found it and secured it for me. Trustworthy and honest about the service and cost of service. No surprises!

Hi Alex- thank you for your kind words and 5 star review! We're happy we found your wallet and returned it to you!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
5

Thank you so much for the 5 star rating!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington
Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Honest-1 Auto Care Bloomington (952) 942-6986 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.